Sarod picks to play Sitar

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance that do not belong elsewhere. It is also for the announcement of workshops, lectures, and performances.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

CrushFan41

Sarod picks to play Sitar

Postby CrushFan41 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 5:48 pm

Hello friends. I have been playing sitar for almost 2 years now and have recently started learning to play both Esraj and Sarod. I like the sarod picks and wondered if it would be better if you were to use sarod picks to play sitar instead of the mizrabs. Full disclosure: I also have played guitar and bass guitar in the past and have been expanding my instrument playing. Just something that had come to mind and wanted a different perspective on it. Thanks. -BW-

David Russell Watson

Re: Sarod picks to play Sitar

Postby David Russell Watson » Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:07 pm

No way to tell but to try it out, and nobody to say it's better or not besides yourself ¦·)

Although personally I used to always think it was just the opposite, that sitar plectra seemed more efficiently designed than the sarod's. You have to grip the jawa, whereas the mizrab stays on by itself and you have merely to move your finger up and down. It's also metal, and lighter in weight, which seemed superior qualities.

Having thought some more about it over the years however, I've decided that maybe the sarod-picking technique yields more volume than the sitar's. It's hard to be sure though, since the sarod's design is so different from the sitar's. I have tried an intermediate method before, that is bracing the mizrab with my thumb and moving my forearm in the same manner as sarod and oud are picked, and it is louder, but yields a color somewhat different from that expected from sitar.

Do try it though, and report the results here, please :·)

David

coyootie

Postby coyootie » Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:22 am