Does anyone play sarod and guitar?

This is for discussions on all Indian melodic instruments

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

sam

Does anyone play sarod and guitar?

Post by sam » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:31 pm

Hi,

I started learning sarod some months ago, my background being in guitar and violin. I was wondering if anyone had fingernail issues with playing both sarod and guitar? At the moment I have my own nails filed pretty short and covered in acrylic. I'm trying to find the optimum length for sarod, that also enables me to play guitar - mainly Jazz/Blues/Folk style.

I suppose this issue could be relevant to other fretted instruments too.

Just wondering if anybody else was in a similar situation and if they had any thoughts on the topic?

cheers,

stuart

aparajit

Re: Does anyone play sarod and guitar?

Post by aparajit » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:51 pm

I see that your post has been read several times with no response. That seems to be becoming typical here. Cannot figure out why?

I guess my answer to your question is no. I do not play guitar and sarod both. I have played guitar a long time ago (12 yrs old) for about 6 months and then tried to play it after I had been playing the sarod a lot, just at a friend's house for kicks and I quickly realized that it does not work. The nail length required to play the sarod interfered with the ability to cleanly press behind the frets of the guitar.