Sarod Construction

This is for discussions on all Indian melodic instruments

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

nigelgarvie

Sarod Construction

Post by nigelgarvie » Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:01 pm

Hi,
I read a very interesting, but now old thread, regarding possible innovations in the construction of the sarod. I am studying sarod, but my main work is as a Scottish bagpipe and sometimes cittern maker, which I supplement as a musician playing cittern (Scottish traditional music and fusion of this with ICM). I tried to email Arnab Chakrabarty at his website email address but the email didn't get through. I am fascinated from an instrument makers point of view, with some of his and others' ideas in this thread, and would hope to be able to contribute to these. Can anybody help?
Thanks
Nigel

aparajit

Re: Sarod Construction

Post by aparajit » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:50 pm

Arnab is a friend of mine on facebook. I am also interested in Sarod construction. Contact me at 513 289 7874 if you need further info or want to start a discussion.

Thanks,
Apu

kalyan

Post by kalyan » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:44 pm