Buying a sitar soon. Need some advice.

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Rabbit

Buying a sitar soon. Need some advice.

Post by Rabbit » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:09 pm

Hello everyone,

I am trying to decide whether to spend the $600 on a student sitar from a site recommended by people here, or to take the ebay route and drop $350.

From what I understand the downside to the ebay sitar is that I really don't know what I am getting, it won't be set up properly, and it might sound lousy. I realize that I will probably be talked out of this option by your responses, but I was wondering if it might be worth it to get the ebay sitar because I am a luthier (nonprofessional) and would have an easier time setting it up than the average Joe. I really just need a sitar that is playable and operational.

Does anyone here have experience with the cheap ones?

Thanks!

cwroyds

Re: Buying a sitar soon. Need some advice.

Post by cwroyds » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:49 pm

Cheap Ebay $350 sitars suck.
They truly bite the big one.
I have one and it is completely useless. (My first sitar).
I took it to my first lesson and realized that it was almost useless to learn on.
I went out that week and bought a better one and was so happy.
The difference was night and day.

In the USA you best bet is the Ali Akbar School Store or Rain City Music.
www.aacm.org
www.raincity.com

Both stores are trusted and known by a lot of us here.
We trust them.
Both will have good sitars in your price range that have been step up by a pro and are ready to play.

My advice is to get as good a sitar as you can afford, maybe even save up for a while to get a better one than you had planned on getting.
If you want to learn real Classical Indian Sitar, you definitely need to find a teacher.

junior

Post by junior » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:31 pm