Self Introduction and Appeal

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Zeugitai

Self Introduction and Appeal

Post by Zeugitai » Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:14 pm

Hello group. My name is Mark and I am living in northwestern Iowa. I have been a guitarist for forty years, but I have been listening to Indian, as well as Turkish and Arabic musics extensively for about the past year. Of course, i am old enough to have owned, played, and worn out several excellent LP records of Ravi Shankar and Ali Akbar Khan back in the day. Then life intervened. During this recent time I have been reading various resources on Raga and Maqam. I am very interested in getting my hands on something, anything, on which I can begin to try my hand and ear at these quarter- and micro-tonal materials. I am old and still a wage-slave, and I will not live long enough to become some great instrumentalist on any new instrument, so I need to avoid instruments that are physically very demanding. Nor do I need an artisan instrument running into the thousands of dollars. It seems I would be best served with a fretless instrument, and I was thinking of a sarode. I have been tempted by the beautiful sounds of the various bowed instruments, as well, like the Taus, but am concerned with the expense which my dilettantism does not justify. I feel certain that I can't be the first person in my position, so I am hoping that guidance won't be difficult to come by, and I offer thanks in advance!

povster
Site Admin

Re: Self Introduction and Appeal

Post by povster » Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:49 pm

One possibility as a sarod alternative is a dotar (not the 2 string folk dotar) but the one that is essentially a small sarod.

I have seen them at AACM and "played" one and they are very sarod-like in sound.Here's an example:

http://www.aacmstore.org/index.php?main ... cts_id=392
...Michael
Dasani - the official bottled water of ICM