Start learning an instrument?

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Nishant

Start learning an instrument?

Post by Nishant » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:25 am

Hello
I have been playing guitar for 5-6 years and i really want to learn a Indian Classical string instrument.How should i proceed?

cwroyds

Re: Start learning an instrument?

Post by cwroyds » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:13 pm

1) Find teacher. You cannot learn properly without one at the beginning.
Check this list to see if there is one near you: http://chandrakantha.com/teachers/
If not then try google to see if there is a local teacher.

2) Find a good solid sitar that will last for a while. The cheap ones are no good, and you will eventually have to get a good one sooner or later.
Best bet for a buying good playable sitar that is set up and ready to go are "www.aacm.org" or "www.raincitymusic.com". Both are excellent merchants for Sitars.

3) Get to practicing. The sitar is nothing like the guitar. Your guitar skills do not really help with the sitar. In order to play sitar you have to practice and play every day. It is not like riding a bike.
I can pick up a guitar after a year of not playing and do fairly well. I can pick up a sitar after not playing for a week and feel like I am starting from scratch.

4) Sounds like a lot of bother to play the sitar, but it is absolutely worth it. I think the Sitar is the most satisfying acoustic instrument to play. It is hard to describe, but it really grabs hold of you. If you are really interested in learning, I say go for it. You wont be disappointed.

Nishant

Post by Nishant » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:06 pm

cwroyds

Post by cwroyds » Tue Dec 18, 2012 7:05 pm

Sarod is very different from sitar, but all the suggestions above still apply.
Just replace "sitar" with "sarod" in my post above and it is still correct. :D
Sarod is a very beautiful instrument.

nicneufeld