Advice on purchasing a tanpura and ICM singing

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

kokopellime

Advice on purchasing a tanpura and ICM singing

Post by kokopellime » Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:32 am

I am truly a newbie to ICM and could use the sage advice of others here on a couple of topics. I must apologize if my query seem simplistic (I've browsed a number of post and see that there's a lot to learn here).

I recently started practicing overtone singing, which has led to an interest in possibly learning more about the different styles of singing within ICM. Can anyone suggest a good primer on the subject, giving an overview of ICM and vocal traditions in particular?

I'm also interested in buying a tanpura to accompany myself and eventually playing at kirtan gatherings. I'd like to cut through all the info found on the various websites that feature tanpuras and get some practical advice from people who play.

What brands/makers do you recommend? Where, online or in the DC (I live in Washington DC) metro area is a good place to buy one. To be real, as a newbie, I'm looking for an instrument suitable for an amateur and priced reasonably. Where can I get the biggest bang for a buck and get a decent instrument? Eventually, I'd like to move up to a more professional instrument but only when I'm approaching that level.

I welcome your comments - kokopellime (a/k/a Irv)

OM GUY

Re: Advice on purchasing a tanpura and ICM singing

Post by OM GUY » Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:36 am

Welcome to the forum, kokopellime~

The typical response: " Buy the best that you can afford"

There are some very bright folks here who will no doubt be here soon to give you assistance as to voice and tanpura matching. Since you say that the DC market is good for this type of instrument, it would be nice to see what you'll eventually come up with.