Tabla and tanpura software

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Fil

Tabla and tanpura software

Post by Fil » Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:56 am

I'm sure this question has been asked many times, but new stuff often comes up, so I hope everybody will forgive me asking.

I've finally taken the plunge into playing Indian music, instead of just listening and have a decent enough sitar to get going. I'm actually a semi-retired pro muso, playing mostly Irish traditional music on fiddle and uilleann pipes, and have experience with instrument manufacture, so I'm no noob when it comes to music per se, just with Hindustani classical music.

So, I want to try out software for tabla and tanpura. I'm not looking for free stuff, as I'm happy to pay, provided it's worth the money. I have tried one on trial and it promptly loaded a whole lot of unwanted rubbish on my computer and reset all my search engines, which was annoying to say the least. :(

Any and all suggestions and advice welcome. :D

Cheers.

pbercker

Re: Tabla and tanpura software

Post by pbercker » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:25 am

Fil wrote:I'm sure this question has been asked many times, but new stuff often comes up, so I hope everybody will forgive me asking.

I've finally taken the plunge into playing Indian music, instead of just listening and have a decent enough sitar to get going. I'm actually a semi-retired pro muso, playing mostly Irish traditional music on fiddle and uilleann pipes, and have experience with instrument manufacture, so I'm no noob when it comes to music per se, just with Hindustani classical music.

So, I want to try out software for tabla and tanpura. I'm not looking for free stuff, as I'm happy to pay, provided it's worth the money. I have tried one on trial and it promptly loaded a whole lot of unwanted rubbish on my computer and reset all my search engines, which was annoying to say the least. :(