Electronic tuner with Indian notes?

This board is just for newbies to place their questions, and for the old timers to answer their questions with patience. Remember, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION!

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Yishai

Electronic tuner with Indian notes?

Post by Yishai » Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:37 am

Hey all! Complete newbie, and my first post :)

I just purchased the first sitar I've ever actually seen in person. I've never owned any instrument, and I'm probably in WAY over my head! But...I'm excited, and I want to learn the right way.

First, I have to tune the silly thing, and I have no desire to learn the western music note system and then translate it to the Indian system. Does anyone know of an electronic tuner that utilizes the Indian notes?

Maybe it's a non-issue, and if I'm making things more complex than they have to be, please let me know!

Thanks in advance! I'm happy to be a part of this great resource, and hope to be a productive member in time.

OM GUY

Re: Electronic tuner with Indian notes?

Post by OM GUY » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:36 am

Yishai wrote:Hey all! Complete newbie, and my first post :)

I just purchased the first sitar I've ever actually seen in person. I've never owned any instrument, and I'm probably in WAY over my head! But...I'm excited, and I want to learn the right way.

First, I have to tune the silly thing, and I have no desire to learn the western music note system and then translate it to the Indian system. Does anyone know of an electronic tuner that utilizes the Indian notes?

Maybe it's a non-issue, and if I'm making things more complex than they have to be, please let me know!

Thanks in advance! I'm happy to be a part of this great resource, and hope to be a productive member in time.
Hmmm.... fresh meat, huh? :lol:

Well, there is good news, not so good news, and bad news.