The Sitar and Sympathetic Strings

This is for general discussions of Indian music and dance.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

CrushFan41

The Sitar and Sympathetic Strings

Post by CrushFan41 » Fri May 10, 2013 11:51 pm

I am a novice sitar player who has just started practicing on a borrowed instrument and am looking to purchase an instrument of my own. My question is for the more seasoned and accomplished players. I have seen adverts for people selling sitars with between 9 and 13 sympathetic strings with the standard playing and chickari strings. Is more sympathetic strings better and do they give a better quality sound? Any info you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!! -BW-

Lars

Re: The Sitar and Sympathetic Strings

Post by Lars » Sat May 11, 2013 3:16 am

Usually there are 11 on a Vilayat Khan style (Etawah, gandhar pancham, etc.) sitar and 13 on a Ravi Shankar style sitar. If you're going for 13 then make sure it's a good sitar and reliable seller as on cheap sitars more is not always better since they're not always placed right. If it only has 9 then probably a low end instrument if it's new. In my opinion 13 is good as that's the style I like, you can double up on the vadi/samvadi (dominant/sub-dominant) and other notes but only if it's made right.

Lars
http://www.raincitymusic.com

Fil

Post by Fil » Sat May 11, 2013 3:39 am

My sitar has 11 despite being a Ravi Shankar style. They are fascinating things. Once you get them all nicely in tune the ringing around your ears they create is just heavenly. Love em!

I don't imagine two extra strings above high Sa would make all that much difference.

While on the topic, I've played Norwegian hardanger fiddles which have sympathetic strings running under the main playing ones. I'd have thought they would make a better choice of fiddle for use in ICM than the standard violin so popular in the South.

Hardanger Fiddle on Wikipoo

povster
Site Admin