Seeking suggestions for sitar teacher in Kolkata, Maihar Gh.

This board is just for newbies to place their questions, and for the old timers to answer their questions with patience. Remember, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION!

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Charles

Seeking suggestions for sitar teacher in Kolkata, Maihar Gh.

Post by Charles » Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:15 am

Greetings to all,

I am a complete beginner and just arrived in Kolkata, where I plan to stay for the next 6 months. While here I would like to study sitar, for three reasons I think: for the simple joy of playing, at whatever level; for gaining a better understanding of the the underlying structure of the music and its subtleties, which I know I am currently missing; and for simply growing a bit more as a human being -- the discipline required to practice on both sunny and cloudy days, cultivating a sensitivity to details, the tangible experience of that constant loop of reward and sacrifice...

I've tried to read as much as I can from this extremely helpful website, and am anxious to avoid repeating questions which have been well-answered earlier. However I'm having some trouble locating some boots-on-the ground details for a complete beginner who happens to find himself in Kolkata.

The "Teachers and Performers" section of this site lists a number of sitar players in the area, but they seem to be largely of the Etawah/Imdadkhani Gharana. It goes without saying that there is much transcedentally beautiful music in that tradition, but I find myself most moved by the playing of Nikhil Banerjee, the Maihar Gharana, and the sound of the Kharaj pancham style sitars.