Sound Difference between sitar #1, #2, #3?

This board is just for newbies to place their questions, and for the old timers to answer their questions with patience. Remember, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION!

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

foxinsox60

Sound Difference between sitar #1, #2, #3?

Postby foxinsox60 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:31 pm

Hi, Has anyone noticed a difference in sound between a #1, #2, and a #3?

I recognize that the number at least also correspondence to a different amount of surface decoration. Does this also correspond to the quality of the materials used and the sound?

I am new to the sitar and am deciding what to buy. I don't like the idea of having to spend the same money twice, and as I'm sure that the sitar is going to be a big musical outlet in my life in the years to come, I'd rather buy something now that has a good sound.

I see some makers price their #1 at the same price more respected makers have a #3. If all I am paying for are the decorations and all else is the same, while I'm sure they're nice, any audience would probably appreciate the elaborate penwork, and I might practice in front of a mirror more often, I'll go for the #3.

Any thoughts?

OM GUY

Re: Sound Difference between sitar #1, #2, #3?

Postby OM GUY » Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:18 pm

foxinsox60 wrote:Hi, Has anyone noticed a difference in sound between a #1, #2, and a #3?

I recognize that the number at least also correspondence to a different amount of surface decoration. Does this also correspond to the quality of the materials used and the sound?

I am new to the sitar and am deciding what to buy. I don't like the idea of having to spend the same money twice, and as I'm sure that the sitar is going to be a big musical outlet in my life in the years to come, I'd rather buy something now that has a good sound.