Distilling the style differences: Shankar, Banerjee, & VK

This board is just for newbies to place their questions, and for the old timers to answer their questions with patience. Remember, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION!

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

nicneufeld

Distilling the style differences: Shankar, Banerjee, & VK

Postby nicneufeld » Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:45 am

Hello gents (and ladies),

I'm new to the sitar, and vice versa, in that my first is on its way to me over the next week and I've only been really cramming on ICM for the past couple months (although interested for the last ten years).

The top three sitar greats of the past century really seem to be down to Ravi Shankar, Nikhil Banerjee, and Vilayat Khan (forgive me for not Panditing and Ustading and all that, I mean great respect but I've not yet sorted out who is a "pandit" and who is an "ustad" yet...not sure what Mr. Banerjee's religious heritage was!). I've been soaking up as much of their music as I can, but for those of you with many more years behind you in this study, I'm interested in how one might simply sum up their respective "styles". I know about the physical sitar differences, and their biographies, but as players, specifically. Pt. Shankar and Banerjee were Alauddin Khan disciples so I'm assuming there would be some similarities. Just curious. I'm most familiar with Ravi Shankar, as most newbies would likely be!

To me, Ravi Shankar is my favorite of the three, and seems to have a sort of creative and almost Western spark to his playing...he would make a good jazz musician, in some ways. Interesting rhythmic aspects. Ustad Vilayat Khan seems to have a serious overtone to his playing. Very technically impressive, but not as colourful sometimes. And the standout for me on what I have heard of Nikhil Banerjee is plenty of chikari and fast playing.