Mrdangams in London

This is to discuss all things pertaining to the south Indian system of music

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Diego

Mrdangams in London

Postby Diego » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:58 pm

Hi,

I'm a tabla student who is also interested in starting taking Mrdangam lessons – does anyone know whether there is a good place to get a Mrdangam in London, or some way to source one?

Also, additionally, regarding teachers, I know the list of teachers exists, but if anyone has a recommendation from personal experience it'd be much appreciated, thanks!

Keshavdas

Re: Mrdangams in London

Postby Keshavdas » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:01 pm

Are you looking for a S. Indian jackwood one or a clay one from Bengal?
"More harm is done by fools through foolishness
then is done by evildoers through wickedness."

The Prophet Mohammed

http://www.keshav-music.com

Diego

Postby Diego » Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:52 am

Oh yes, sorry, I always forget to specify – it's the South Indian Jackwood one, effectively, the one for Carnatic music.

trippy monkey

Postby trippy monkey » Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:23 pm

Southall has 2 shops
Bina, left of the train station & Jaz Musicals in the centre. Both have many mridangams for sale of varying qualities so BEWARE!!!!!!

Nick

trippy monkey

Postby trippy monkey » Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:25 pm

Forgot to ask!!
Are you resident in the UK or visiting?
Teachers are at the Bhavan school but if you go to their UK site there's a list of teachers of all manner of Indian arts.

Nick

Keshavdas

Postby Keshavdas » Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:29 pm

I haven't found anyone who's been able to consistently provide high quality S. Indian mridungams. Your best bet would be to try Saptaswara in Chennai http://www.sapthaswara.com/products.asp?id=3
They accept credit cards.

The Prophet Mohammed

Diego

Postby Diego » Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:36 pm

Hi Trippy Monkey and Keshavdas,