Ghatam

This is to discuss all things pertaining to the south Indian system of music

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

Gemaine

Ghatam

Post by Gemaine » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:09 am

Hello everybody, I'm pretty new to Indian Classical music, but absolutely love the sounds of the Ghatam. Does anybody know of any specifics regarding the purchase of a ghatam? I am hopeful that it will be an easier process than tablas or mridangam seeing as I won't have to deal with head quality, etc, but is there a specific online store that would offer quality ghatams or is ebay/amazon my best bet? As far as I know, it seems to be have a much simpler construction so it seems to me like variations in quality would be limited, but I want to make sure before I get ahead of myself.

trippy monkey

Re: Ghatam

Post by trippy monkey » Thu Oct 07, 2010 12:29 pm

Hi G
There's always Sapthaswar & Sruthilaya in Chennai/Madras, India. They both have websites.
Ghatams are reinforced as you probably know, otherwise they would break.

Nick

Gemaine

Post by Gemaine » Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:14 am

Thanks! I'l' check those sites out. And while I'm sure the quality of the ghatams suggested on those sites are much better, I was wondering if anybody knew anything about Empire ghatams? http://www.amazon.com/Empire-Ghatam/dp/B000BK2K98
http://www.austinbazaar.com/c=XM3yCOQP3 ... hatam.html

trippy monkey

Post by trippy monkey » Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:57 pm

Austin Bazaar said Rec price nearly $250. It's not a bloody sitar, it's 'only' a clay pot!!! Even their lower price of less than $120 is pushing it.
I have a plastic washing up bowl for sale at $100!! Anyone???? :lol: :lol:

Nick

Gemaine

Post by Gemaine » Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:25 pm

Lol, I see your point, but would the ones from the other places be cheaper?

Djinn Fizz

Post by Djinn Fizz » Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:58 pm

I don't know the price - but I'm sure I've seen them on the KMI site (Keshav Music).