Sarangi Project

This is for discussions about sarangi, dilruba, esraj, or any bowed instrument used in India

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

`hege

Sarangi Project

Postby `hege » Wed May 28, 2014 5:39 pm

Sarangi - A project undertaken as a journey back to both my musical and woodworking roots.

Of all the instruments this one intrigues me the most, and is not in my collection. Confused mostly by the variety (and costs!) of the market available instruments, I took it upon myself to just build one using sketches of ones I like that I have made from pictures collected on the internet.

How? Get (or in my case MAKE) a chunk of wood and cut away everything that IS NOT a Sarangi. :lol:

Please bear in mind I have never laid eyes on the actual instrument. I am working from pure visual standpoint, with some decent hand skills and tools.
Apologies in advance to any Master Woodworkers out there, if you see anything that makes you cringe! I'm a complete novice doing this.

Can anyone tell me how thick the Fingerboard and Mehrab areas should be? That is, after cutting out the belly of the piece, how much thickness should be left behind? I would think that thinner is better, with the caveat being the stress created by the tarab strings would require some nominal thickness. I have it at about 5mm now.

I have a question about the wall thickness where the goatskin is placed as well. Again, my instinct was to go thinner for more resonance. Is there some guideline, as I am sure there is not a standard!

I am using mechanical tuners everywhere except for the chromatics and main pegs. This was mostly an economic choice, as this is just an exercise to see if this can be done (by me), and have you checked the price of pegs, and the count on number needed? Adding it all up, I could have bought 2 market Sarangi for the cost of the pegs alone almost! :o