The Rhythmic Function of Tala/Decitalas

Discussions about the Indian percussive instruments.

Moderators: povster, s1owpoke, cabernethy, coughcapkittykat

JG95

The Rhythmic Function of Tala/Decitalas

Post by JG95 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:41 pm

Hi there everybody,

I'm sorry if this is being posted in the wrong place. I'm a university student studying Popular Music at Masters level looking to learn more about the Rhythmic Functionality of Tala/Decitala within Indian Music. What I've learned so far is that Tala/Decitala are the rhythmic building blocks for Indian Music? (Please feel free to correct me, I'd much rather you do!) Whereas in the west, rhythm isn't really used as a building block in the same sense as it is through the use of Tala in Indian music am I correct? We in the west have our Paradiddles and other rudiments like that but they wouldn't be used as the rhythmic fundamentals for a song now would they? I'd love to learn more about the Tala and how it makes Indian music unique from any other genre of music. Thank you.

Benarsidass

Re: The Rhythmic Function of Tala/Decitalas

Post by Benarsidass » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:55 am

Tal is a huge subject but essentially, tal is a rhythmic framework within which the music is performed. But tals are not at all "building blocks" of the music in terms of rhythm. Tals themselves do not determine what kinds of rhythms you hear in the music.

Tals provide a non-stop cycle that is always there beneath the music. The surface music is composed and improvised within a tal, but that music will only sometimes reflect the structure of the tal itself. This can vary depending on the genre of classical Indian music, but in most North Indian classical music, the connection between tal and surface rhythms can vary greatly in a single performance.